Tillandsia cyanea

I’ve been on the lookout for one of these for a while but finally picked one up. It seems to have had a rough past with some leaf damage and dried tips to the bracts but it hasn’t flowered yet and has a decently sized pup growing so I’m hopeful that I can have this thing do well for me in the long run.

Tillandsia cyanea
T. cyanea

So should I be keeping this more like my Vriesea hybrids or my other Tillandsias?

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in New, Tropical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tillandsia cyanea

  1. faroutflora says:

    I am not certain on maintenance, but that photo has a gorgeous flower. Actually, I just learned that most of that color are bracts..not the flower. Ahh, so much yet to learn. Matti

  2. Andrew says:

    I'll post some pictures of the flowers when they come but the best thing about these are the bracts. Very colourful and they last a long time too.

  3. Peter says:

    Definitely treat it more like vriesias and other terrestrial bromeliads than epiphytic tillandsias. On the other hand, we treat them all pretty much the same anyway.

Leave a comment