Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – April 2011

Compared to last April I can see we’re still a little behind last year, but clearly all the new bulbs I planted in the fall are making my April garden much more interesting.

The patch of Daffodils I showed last year doesn’t have a single bloom open yet, where it was in full swing a year ago.

Daffodil buds

Another bulb which didn’t quite make it for bloom day this year are my Iris reticulata ‘Harmony’

Iris reticulata 'Harmony'

Update – I woke up this morning and looked outside and sure enough they had managed to pull through in time for Bloom Day after all. The Daffs are much further along as well this morning but I’d say 2-3 more days, depending on the weather.

Iris reticulata 'Harmony'
Iris reticulata ‘Harmony’

And now onto what did manage to put on a show this year.

Crocus chrysanthus 'Romance'
Crocus chrysanthus ‘Romance’ – My crocuses in the front are a little further behind so my ‘Blue Pearl’s didn’t manage to open in time. I really like the way the butter yellow buds open into brighter flowers each day. From what I can see of the one open ‘Blue Pearl’ it does the opposite, with light blue buds opening to almost white flowers during the day.

Galanthus nivalis
Galanthus nivalis are still going strong. Going to have to put down some large bark chips or something so they stop getting splashed with dirt every time it rains.

Some new plants are flowering too.

Dwarf Daffodil
Dwarf Daffodil – past their prime at work so I got to bring home a big number of these. They’ll be planted out between my grasses where they can put on a big show in future years.

Primula marginata ‘Mauve Mist’
Primula marginata ‘Mauve Mist’ – New plant, I already have one but it’s in the slow to get started front yard and not yet blooming. (If you shop anywhere that carries “Rock Stars” you might see this one in that collection. A little undecided if I want this to join the plant at the front for a bigger show or find somewhere in the back for an earlier show.

Dianthus Scent First™ 'Passion'
Dianthus Scent First™ ‘Passion’ – even with a pretty bad cold I can tell I like how this smells. It looks like my Sedum ‘Lynda Windsor’ didn’t make it through the winter so this might end up in its spot.

And in my pots at the front I’ve planted some yellow/orange Iceland Poppies surrounded by large flowered light blue Pansies, and smaller flowered bright orange and Plentifall™ ‘Lavender’ Pansies (I’ll be interested to see how much they can end up trailing).

Papaver nudicaule
Papaver nudicaule

Viola cvv.
Viola cvv.

And then of course there’s a selection of tropicals flowering. Some Violets, Streps, and My Kohleria ‘Green Goblin’ in particular has been going non-stop for as long as I’ve had it, and from specimens I’ve seen in shows I’d say it’s that plant, not necessarily my care that’s causing it.

I’ll be back tomorrow for a Foliage Followup as well.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Annual, Bloom Day, Hardy, New, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – April 2011

  1. Greggo says:

    Cant get enough of that iris r.

  2. Rosemary says:

    Very pretty. I especially like your Iris reticulata. I’m surprised that your Crocus crysantha are still in bloom–mine (same cultivars, ‘Blue Pearl’ and ‘Romance’) are long gone. I guess that’s microclimates for you!

    • Andrew says:

      Even between the front yard and back I can see there’s a pretty big range of bloom time for these. In my backyard the snow stays on them fairly late into the spring and in the front they are only just starting to get any sun now so that definitely has set them back as well.

  3. Sometimes buds are almost as beautiful as the blooms. Lovely blooms and photos!

  4. Town Mouse says:

    Good show! Interesting, I have some plants a little behind, some on time. But what’s best is that some plants that would have stopped blooming are still going strong because it’s been cool. Isn’t bloom day fun! Thanks for sharing – lovely photos.

Leave a comment