New Orchid: Miltassia Cairus ‘New River’

I picked this up today (Over an Oncidium Sweet Sugar ‘Million Dollars’ and two others that were quickly ruled out) and I’m pretty excited about it. On my wishlist is another Miltassia (Mtssa. Shelob ‘Tolkein’ AM/AOS, ‘Webmaster’ or ‘Okika’ with its variegated leaves or probably any other cross I find) so it’ll be nice before I try ordering a pricier orchid online to see if I can keep a Miltassia alive and better yet re-bloom one.

Miltassia Cairus 'New River'
Miltassia Cairus ‘New River’

It’s a nice dark purple with some subtle spotting that might remind someone of a Rorschach test, this picture, however, is right out of Freud.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Tropical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment