Perennial Plant List finished

Last night I finished up my Perennial Plant List. It’s longer than I expected. It includes everything hardy on my property that stays outside year round whether in the ground or in containers that I’m growing on purpose.

Iris 'Starship Enterprise'
Iris ‘Starship Enterprise’ – one of a surprisingly high number of Irises

There are 97 distinct plants (I guess I didn’t actually include bulbs… Daffodils & Crocus bring that to 99).

Sempervivum cv.
Sempervivum NOID (Large) – one of 14 hardy Hens-&-Chicks

The largest groups are Sempervivum with 12 (plus two Jovibarba), 11 Irises, 7 Sedum, and 7 Hostas.

There are 9 woody plants and a decent number of evergreens (especially if you include Sempervivum & Jovibarba) – only 2 “traditional” woody evergreens, my Boxwood and Euonymus.

Sedum hispanicum minus 'Blue Carpet'
Sedum hispanicum minus ‘Blue Carpet’ – one of 7 Sedum varieties.

The largest plant is my Syringa reticulata ‘Ivory Silk’. I imagine that Sedum album ‘Faro Form’ is the smallest, but it’s close.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Hardy, Website. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perennial Plant List finished

  1. rohrerbot says:

    Truly amazing….you have made a list:) I am just getting started and it is quite the cataloging, didn't realize how much work it is. I have a drawer full of notes and tags.

  2. That's such a good idea…I sometimes lose track of things 🙂 I don't know why so many people look down on Iris these days…I still love them…such elegant flowers with practically no pampering.

Leave a comment