Daisies and Black Eyed Susans

Summer is the season of the Daisy-like flowers of the Aster family. I only have three of these (I think) – Leucanthemum ‘Becky’ and Rudbeckia hirta ‘Prairie Sun’ (and plain Rudbeckia hirta).

Leucanthemum 'Becky'
Leucanthemum ‘Becky’ – I’ll likely always have at least one of these. A classic and it couldn’t be easier to grow.

Rudbeckia hirta 'Prairie Sun'
Rudbeckia hirta ‘Prairie Sun’ – I bought this a few years ago.

Rudbeckia hirta
Rudbeckia hirta – but now half the plant’s flowering like this.

There’s not much more summery than the flowers of the Aster family. From now until fall these (more-so the Rudbeckia) will fill gardens everywhere with colour.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Hardy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Daisies and Black Eyed Susans

  1. Water Roots says:

    I love these types of flowers; they're just so gorgeous.

Leave a comment