Plants I still haven’t bought…

And yet I have one!

I first met Aglaonema ‘Crete’ in early August when we got three in at work. They were a little pricey at $25 each but tempting. Ultimately I didn’t buy one. A few weeks ago a co-worker lets me know she has left me something in the office and I should have a look. They had been taking apart custom planters and apparently one of these Aglaonemas has made its way into one of these containers – and done very poorly! The poor thing was slightly sunburned and it looked like something slug-like had been eating the leaves. Nothing overly serious but certainly not a plant that could be potted up and sold or even used in a fall custom planter. I was tempted at $25 but free was impossible to refuse!

Photobucket
Aglaonema ‘Crete’

The new leaves that have come in since I brought it home have been much more solid green/red rather than green/olive green/red and I must say I’m a big fan of the change. The leaves are also nice and glossy and on the whole the plant looks like it will make a full recovery. I still need to tidy up the old leaves so the plant still looks a little messy but at least you can see what the new growth looks like.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in New, Tropical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Plants I still haven’t bought…

  1. Aerelonian says:

    I love free plants! It looks a little sad but free plants usually do. I'm sure in a few months it will look great!

Leave a comment