Foliage Followup – August 2011

I went out yesterday with thoughts of Bloom Day in my head and just ended up taking lots and lots of pictures of foliage.

Agave 'Blue Glow'
Agave ‘Blue Glow’ with Agave geminiflora behind.

Agave 'Kissho Kan'
Agave ‘Kissho Kan’

Agave 'Sharkskin'
Agave ‘Sharkskin’ with Anacampseros rufescens in the foreground with Monarda ‘Fireball’ picking up the hot pink colour in the background. What caught my eye more than that was the indentation left on the back of the leaf. Oops, my Agave geminiflora has been thirsty.

Kalanchoe tomentosa
Kalanchoe tomentosa – Not a big Kalanchoe fan but this one was free and is proving itself very trouble free.

Musella lasiocarpa
Musella lasiocarpa – My Musella hasn’t been getting the attention it deserves on my blog this year so here’s a picture to make up for it. I trained my Red Rose up through the middle of it but when the rose was in full bloom the Musella didn’t look like much, now the rose isn’t blooming but there are lots of buds coming. Expect more pictures once that all comes together.

Hosta 'Fragrant Bouquet' Foliage
Hosta ‘Fragrant Bouquet’ – The foliage of this Hosta. I don’t normally go for predominantly yellow varieties but this one certainly makes a good focal point in a shady corner.

I’ll be posting individual posts through this week for my Kaempferia pygmea, Amorphophallus atroviridis, and my new Alocasia tigrina as well, all of which are worth having a look at for foliage fans.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Foliage Followup, Hardy, Tropical and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Foliage Followup – August 2011

  1. Nice, Andrew. Every time I see another ‘Blue Glow’ agave on someone’s blog I tell myself I need to get one. Feeling more certain about that than ever.

  2. It may be called “Blue Glow,” but what draws me to that Agave is the red ridges along the leaves.❤ them!

  3. Aaerelon says:

    Lovely! I always poke myself on those Agave. Never bleed, just poke.

  4. Oh no! My agave envy is already in full effect (from repeated visits to Pam’s blog) and you’re just stoking the fires with these… lol. I also adore that Musella. I’m unfamiliar with that plant–some relative/cross of a banana, perhaps?

    • Andrew says:

      I think that might be where I caught the Agave bug too (danger garden as well probably).

      The Musella lasiocarpa is in the same family as Musa (regular bananas) and Ensete. The shape and growth habit is more similar to Ensete than it is to Musa species. It only grows only 4-6 feet tall and is supposed to be root hardy with protection in zone 6 and stem hardy in zone 7 (needs to be stem hardy to flower). Did well enough in my unheated garage in zone 5 anyway.

  5. Christina says:

    That Agave ‘Blue Glow’ is a real winner, I hadn’t realised just how many different Agaves there are. I don’t think they would all be hardy with me though. It’s great there are so many different kinds of foliage. Just as much variation as with flowers. Christina

Leave a Reply

