Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – August 2011

Kniphofia 'Papaya Popsicle'
Kniphofia ‘Papaya Popsicle’ – Still blooming well, the two stalks are nearly finished, one more just showing colour and three green ones coming up. Wasn’t really expecting it to last this long and thrilled that it is.

Tricyrtis 'Tojen'
Tricyrtis ‘Tojen’ – An August classic. This will keep blooming from now until frost, and happy to be able to say completely lily beetle free this year too.

Agastache 'Black Adder'
Agastache ‘Black Adder’ – I’ve had this one for years and never been happy with it. Was going to replace it with ‘Blue Fortune’ or ‘Golden Jubilee’ this summer but decided to move it instead to one of the sunniest spots in the garden to see how it’ll do there. It’s underperformed for me but going back to the washed out pale blues of most other Agastache make me think I should give it another chance first.

Hosta 'Fragrant Bouquet' Flowers
Hosta ‘Fragrant Bouquet’ – I’ve got pictures of the leaves on this one if you come back tomorrow for foliage followup.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Bloom Day, Hardy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – August 2011

  1. Rosemary says:

    I love your kniphofia. I didn’t know they were hardy here!

    • Andrew says:

      I think it’s more a question of drainage (and possibly snow cover too) rather than cold hardiness that makes this tricky in this area. I’ve seen some pretty mature patches on the U Waterloo campus generally planted on raised berms and of course lots of snow there. I’m hoping I’ll be able to winter this one here without problems.

  2. I love the Tricyrtis, havn’t tried them for years, as my garden is too dry, – but just about to design a shady woodland border, so thanks for the reminder

  3. Those are gorgeous Kniphofia and you’ve taken what might be the best ever photo of a Hosta flower!

  4. Scott says:

    I’ve had ‘Black Adder’ for a few years and while it hasn’t wowed me yet, I have moved it 2 times, so can’t quite fault it yet! I have quite a few Agastaches, and for a really great blue/purple I would recommend wither ‘Purple Haze’ or ‘Blue Blazes’. Not sure if they would be reliably hardy, but the color of both is much richer, especially ‘Blue Blazes’…it’s great and saturated, plus, doesn’t fade away in sun.

    • Andrew says:

      Mine has certainly moved around a lot but I’m blaming shade just as much. When I was digging it out I discovered it actually had a lot more stems than I thought, they were just sort of sprawling across the ground in part sun. Actually seen some improvement in just the short time since it moved into the sun, so expecting good things from it next year. I haven’t seen either of those two available locally but maybe I’ll look for them if ‘Black Adder’ doesn’t work out.

Leave a Reply

