Monarda ‘Fireball’

Monarda 'Fireball'
Monarda ‘Fireball’

First I suppose there’s the fact I’ve never seen a fireball that’s hot magenta-pink before. I suppose there’s always a chance the plant I got was mis-tagged but I see some sites out there showing a picture of the plant like mine, hot pink, and still trying to describe it as “rich, fiery-red.”

Then maybe it’s where I have it, maybe it was the spring but on top of the usual mildew (not actually that much) and bare lower stems (definitely unsightly, and I don’t have room to plant something in front) I’ve also had some sort of insect problem this year (almost completely stopped the first blooming). I’m sorry but for a plant that isn’t even what I wanted to give me this much trouble… well, space is at a premium and I think this one has to go.

If I were to go back to another Monarda I think I’d probably stick to ‘Jacob Clein’ or ‘Gardenview Scarlet’ (one of which was in this spot before I planted ‘Fireball’) or ‘Purple Rooster’

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Hardy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monarda ‘Fireball’

  1. cally says:

    I understand your frustration, I have a pot graveyard of things I’ve bought that were some combination of the wrong colour, sickly and/or pest ridden. I can never quite bear to throw them out (unless spreading disease) so they sit making me feel guilty as I hope to meet someone that really wants them. Eventually they get an overly hot few days of neglect that finishes them off. Oh dear.

Leave a Reply

