Two new Agave for the collection

(You know you have too many, or just enough, plants when you start referring to them as a collection instead of “my houseplants”)

Agave 'Kissho Kan'
Agave ‘Kissho Kan’ – I never actually imagined I would find one of these in person. It doesn’t seem to be a very rare plant based on how much I see it online, but here in Canada it’s a whole different ballgame.

Agave parryi var. truncata
Agave parryi var. truncataAgave parryi has also been a long favourite, one of the first Agaves I really loved in the sea of A. americana (the big, floppy leaves did (do) little for me, especially variegated) with a tight, clean looking rosette with a perfect and clearly visible spiral pattern (which mine won’t clearly show for a few more years but I’ve got time).

This really cuts down on the number of Agaves I need to really round out my collection, still looking for Agave victoriae-reginae and maybe something with filaments on the leaves and dare I say done after that? (Ya right, I’d still buy almost any I saw but it’s a nice thought)

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Tropical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Two new Agave for the collection

  1. Rohrerbot says:

    Love the agaves. I am a huge cacti collector…..still working on the succulents and for some reason take for granted the agave world. I like them, but I don’t know where to put them. Some of them get so large and when I turn around in the garden, I get stabbed. However, I really like the Kissho Kan. Plant collection is a healthy hobby. Think about all the clean air you get to breathe:)

    • Andrew says:

      I’ve only stabbed myself (badly) once, so no huge problems there. Probably going to install a shelf for them next spring to keep them out of the way (of harm – for me).

  2. You’ve got one on me now…I still don’t have a Kissho Kan! Must right that wrong soon…

    • Andrew says:

      I think on the whole though my collection pales in comparison. I may have mentioned it before but your Agave Shira ito no Ohi is great, and in that red container it looks sort of like a tomato with leaves out the top, always makes me smile when I see it.

  3. Bom says:

    I have an A. victoriae-reginae and an A. parviflora. None of your agaves though. I wish we could find a way to trade offsets.

  4. Scott says:

    Hahaha…there’s nothing wrong with having a “collection” of something…as long as you still have room to move😉

Leave a Reply

