Salvia ‘Caradonna’ & Sedum ‘Xenox’

image

Sorry for yet another low quality cell phone picture but figured at least if it’s not the greatest picture at least it shows some fantastic plants.

About three years ago I was doing some landscaping and tackled this bed, which, at the time just had some overgrown daylilies and Iris, and some feet away a mostly dead purple leaf sandcherry. The dead shrub removed and the other perennials divided we chose to connect the two beds and make one garden big enough to actually be impressive (I had started this job with a raised bed 18″ by 60′ – I liked how it turned out actually but obviously there were limitations).

The plant list:
Miscanthus ‘Huron Sunrise’ (doing amazingly well, now my favorite grass)
Existing daylilies and Iris (overgrown again after 3 years)
‘Goldstrum’ black eyed Susan (doing well, some seedlings now that should have been pulled ages ago)
‘Magnus’ Coneflower (doing very well, easy and good reliable stand-by, if a little boring)
Arizona something blanket flower (6 planted, 0 remaining but they sure were amazing for the first two years)
Lupins – I had these in my garden for years without any blooming, they did well for two years and while I can still see them I don’t expect flowers this year at all.
Some donated hens and chicks
And then these two stunning plants – possibly my favorite Sedum and definitely my favorite Salvia.

If I were still involved with this garden I’d probably plant lavender to replace the blanket flowers, though the black eyed Susans are working on it.

Oh, ya. Best part? This garden was watered the day it was planted in July 2008 and has not been watered or fertilized since. Minimal weeding and I think someone cuts things back in the spring but otherwise absolutely no maintenance needed.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Hardy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Salvia ‘Caradonna’ & Sedum ‘Xenox’

  1. Scott says:

    Wonderful combo…I’ll have to keep ab eye out for Xenox…that color is outstanding! Caradonna is my fave of the smaller salvias…especially with those wonderful dark stems…great combo!

  2. Greggo says:

    Caradonna is now my favorite perinatal salvia in my cottage garden.

  3. Oh my lord, I love that Sedum. I’ve never seen it before. I will definitely keep an eye out for it.

  4. Pingback: Kniphofia ‘Papaya Popsicle’ | All Andrew's Plants

Leave a Reply

