New Plant: Twilite Prairieblues™ False Indigo

Baptisia x variicolor ‘Twilite’ (Twilite Prairieblues™)
Baptisia x variicolor ‘Twilite’ (Twilite Prairieblues™ False Indigo) – Flowers are actually a little darker than this, but not by a huge amount.

I have a spot that needed filling and a section of the garden that typically doesn’t get going until mid summer. Partly inspired by this review of the plant and partly because it just looks awesome I got one of these today. Slightly concerned it will overgrow the space but also sort of hoping for it to get big I’m also hoping it’ll give me some good early height and colour in that section of the garden. My other Baptesia options were australis, ‘Purple Smoke,’ and Solar Flare™, the first two being ruled out because I’ve got a Salvia just coming into bloom with similar colour and while I done mind having the same colours repeated I though the grey-purple might be more interesting. Solar Flare™ seems to be pretty sweet and the colour is really nice but I wanted to stay in more of the blue tones.

I am pretty sure that this is also the first member of the Pea family in my garden, so that’s pretty exciting too.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Hardy, New and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Plant: Twilite Prairieblues™ False Indigo

  1. Scott says:

    Very cool! I just bought my first Baptisia this spring (Purple Smoke). My plant was pretty small, however, and I don’t think it will bloom this year…just want it to put out lots of roots and get established! I read that same review of ‘Twilite Prarieblues’ too…his website has led me to get quite a few different plants! I think mine may also overgrow its space a bit, but as they resent being moved, I guess I’ll relocate its bedmates if that happens. Can’t wait to see how yours fares…I may have to add one next year in my next garden project.

    • Andrew says:

      I was really torn because ‘Purple Smoke’ is a pretty amazing plant in its own right. I saw some early in spring just as small shoots maybe a foot high out of the ground which were so colourful I stopped and had to go back to check the tag. The flowers are more of a normal looking blue/purple too.

      Out of the four flats (32 plants) we got in of Twilite Prairieblues™ I’d say maybe 5 or 6 plants were flowering, so it’s probably more normal not to have flowers on a young plant.

      I’m just glad the heat has broken here again for a few days so mine can get established before the next heat wave rolls through.

  2. Mark says:

    False Indigo makes a spectacular display of bloom year after year. I hope yours thrives for you! The color of this Twilite Prairieblues™ is very special. I’ve not seen it before now.

Leave a Reply

