Foliage Followup, May 2011

It seems like everything grows fastest here in May. We’ve (usually) had some warmer weather by now and any time it rains things seem to just shoot out of the ground. Here are a few of the more interesting foliage happenings around my garden this May.

Primula marginata ‘Mauve Mist’
Primula marginata ‘Mauve Mist’ – Unless I try very hard not to, this will be showing up here on Foliage Followup quite often.

Sedum spathulifolium 'Cape Blanco'
Sedum spathulifolium ‘Cape Blanco’ – A lot of what I read online about this plant didn’t give me high hopes of it surviving the winter. It made it and has gotten to a great start this spring.

Sempervivum 'Hepworth Hybrid'
Sempervivum ‘Hepworth Hybrid’ – Love the bright red spring colour on this one. I’ll have to shoot all of them sometime because others are looking pretty good too (‘Cherry Tart’ and ‘Ohio Burgundy’ in particular).

Jovibarba solobifera
name – On the subject of Hens and Chicks here’s Jovibarba solobifera, always trying to show that it can do just that much more than you’d expect. I suppose with the ball shape of this plant’s offsets producing them above the main rosette will give them a better chance of rolling away somewhere good. Until then though it’s a nice hit of bright green colour.

NOID Rose
I was really happy with the way my Rose and semi-hardy banana played together last year so I’ve decided to give them a head start this year – so far it looks like the rose will be in full bloom before the banana even has a leaf out and open, and I have no problems with that.

Adiantum pedatum
Adiantum pedatum – The new fronds on my Adiantum pedatum remind me each spring how awesome this plant is. I’ve killed the less hardy Adiantums so many times now it sometimes surprises me how trouble free this one is outside in the ground.

Hosta 'June'
And because I can – right in the middle of the sunniest spot in my yard Hosta ‘June’ is already opening up while my latest Hosta ‘Captain Kirk’ in the front yard is barely poking its way out of the ground.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Foliage Followup, Hardy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Foliage Followup, May 2011

  1. “Because you can” — yes, a great reason to celebrate that gorgeous ‘Captain Kirk’ hosta. Love those leaves! It would melt here. I’m green with envy.

  2. Greggo says:

    I planted a Cape Blanco just recently. Look forward to see how it does here in Kansas. Like your post.

  3. ricki says:

    Think that Adiantum would grow in zone 7? It is truly gorgeous.

    • Andrew says:

      I can’t see it being a problem for you in zone 7. Certainly not anything to do with cold winters, I’m in zone 5 and I believe if I’m mistaken it’s actually native to this area too.

  4. Scott says:

    I’m such a big fan of the Adiantum…I love how something that looks so delicate can be so tough too!

  5. Bom says:

    I’m drooling over your Hostas picture.

Leave a Reply

