Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – May 2011

Lots of action right now in the garden. The bulbs have pretty well all faded and it’s mostly new plants carrying my garden through May as my established plants are all in bud and getting close to opening by the end of the month.

Lewisia 'Sunset Strain'
Lewisia ‘Sunset Strain’

Dianthus Scent First™ 'Passion'
Dianthus Scent First™ ‘Passion’

Primula 'Miss Indigo'
Primula ‘Miss Indigo’

And on a more subtle note two of my Trilliums managed to open in time for bloom day this year too.

Trillium sessile
Trillium sessile

Trillium luteum
Trillium luteum

And head on over to May Dreams Gardens to see what’s blooming for others this May Bloom Day.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Bloom Day, Hardy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – May 2011

  1. My bulbs are still blooming in the front garden. But no roses yet. Kinda surprising considering where you are located. Happy GBBD Andrew.

  2. Megan says:

    Your Lewisia is fabulous! I’m loving the deep blue Primula blooms, too! Great blooms for May!

  3. Lona says:

    Andrew that Primula is just beautiful!. I have never grown Lewisia and I really need to try at least once. I love the different color mixes in the blooms.

  4. Gayle Madwin says:

    The Primula ‘Miss Indigo’ has an amazingly deep color.

    • Andrew says:

      Definitely. At first I was worried it would be to dark for a shadier part of the garden but it stands out well enough against a backdrop of Dead Nettle.

  5. That Miss Indigo Primula is stunning…the color so deep. All of your blooms are lovely. Happy GBBD Day!

  6. Greggo says:

    I’m curious about trilliums, never tried any. This is my first year for ligularia. May try those next year.

    • Andrew says:

      I’ve found Trilliums pretty easy plants – just don’t expect them to develop overly quickly. I really like the ones with ornamental leaves just because it can take them so long to start blooming if you’ve got a young plant.

  7. Larry says:

    My goodness you have some fantastic plants on your post today… I’m absolutely crazy about Lewisias although I haven’t done real well overwintering them… I’m curious as to how you handle them in the winter?

    And then I come to your ‘Miss Indigo’ primula… WOW… wherever did you find this marvelous specimen… it’s amazing! Larry

    • Andrew says:

      So far I’ve only ever killed them over the winter, but trying again and going to try a few different things. There are a lot of offsets all around the plant and I’ll try some in well drained spots in my garden, keep the main plant in a dry-ish sheltered spot and as a last resort bring a small piece inside and try to keep it alive under lights through the winter. Hopefully one of these things will work because I love the colour of this one I’ve found this year.

      Lucky for me I work in the perennial section at a local garden center and can order interesting looking plants and as a bonus get first pick when they come off the truck. Of course this means I have more plants than I need or have room for but at least I can always count on finding things like this Primula right when they come in.

      • Larry says:

        Just a quick follow-up Andrew… my only successes over winter with Lewisias thus far, has been when they’ve been planted in hyper-tuffas and over wintered in an unheated garage that gets well below freezing… light has been minimal. I have recently purchased several of the Little Plum series (Long Petaled Lewisia) and they were wintered over by the nursery in pots and under Re May row cover material. I am pretty much convinced the whole problem of over-wintering has to do with winter moisture. I don’t have a good scree area, so will garage them in containers. Although Sunset strain are my favorite and I have a few new ones, the Little Plum are supposedly easier to maintain and keep through the winter. Several of my plants are getting ready to bloom in the next couple of weeks and I will be posting photos. What a treat to be working as you do with perennials and having first choice! Larry

Leave a Reply

