New Plants

Just because I haven’t been posting as much recently doesn’t mean I haven’t been up to my old ways of hoarding plants. Even though my garden is distinctly full right now I’ve managed to collect the following:

Asarum canadense – I’d love to have room to grow this as a groundcover but instead it’ll grow at the base of my potted Ostrich Fern.

Fragaria 'Guardian'
Fragaria ‘Guardian’

Hosta 'Stiletto'
Hosta ‘Stiletto’ brings me up to 8 Hostas. Interesting narrow leaves and fairly small size made it an easy choice for me. I keep wanting to make a display at work with ‘Striptease’, ‘Risky Business’, ‘Touch of Class’, and ‘Stiletto’ but I don’t think it would go over well with the higher ups. Maybe one day in my garden instead…

Iris versicolor 'Gerald Darby'
Iris versicolor ‘Gerald Darby’ – Don’t even ask where this is going. I might have to get rid of something to grow this.

Leontopodium alpinum (Edelweiss)

Lewisia ‘Sunset Strain’ Orange – Not many flowers on it right now but a very vigorous plant it’s sort of an orange colour with a touch of pink.

Polystichum tsus-simense
Polystichum tsus-simense or Korean Rock Fern. I’ve actually been looking for this one for some time. Only hardy to zone 6 but some people keep it as a houseplant, I’m going to keep it potted and in a corner with snow piled up on it.

Primula 'Miss Indigo'
Primula ‘Miss Indigo’ – A very dark blue/purple double perennial Primula which was given to me. I planted it in the middle of a patch of Lamium so that hopefully the flowers will show up better.

Saxifraga 'Purple Robe'
Saxifraga ‘Purple Robe I was debating between a few other carpet like rock garden plants and then this showed up at work. Gorgeous dark red flowers on almost black stems. Seeing this made my decision easy. It’s been planted near my Fern-Leaf Peony so if they’re flowering at the same time there will be a nice combo of two dark red flowers together.

Trillium luteum – A lot of my other Trilliums have been doing very well this spring so I thought I’d add to my collection with this mottled leaf, yellow flowered Trillium. It’s in bud so I’ll save a picture for when it opens.

And as far as I can recall that’s it for new hardy plants so far this year. There’s 1 new not so hardy plant but I want to see if the cutting takes before I post about it.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Hardy, New and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Plants

  1. Scott says:

    Hahaha…nice selection, and you’re not alone in having to shuffle things around to fit in new purchases! I was excited to find ‘Gerald Darby’ at a plant sale earlier this spring, however, I think my rhizome rotted shortly after planting…very sad😦 Luckily, I see that Forest Farm offers them, so I may give it another try.

  2. Pingback: A Flower a day…Day 2 | jeanne's blog

  3. Bom says:

    Congratulations on your loot. I think you will be able to find a place for each of them. Don’t gardeners always? I always find it difficult to choose between plants and end up keeping both.

Leave a Reply

