Sauromatum venosum Flowering

Over the past couple of days I’ve been watching my Sauromatum venosum, each day anticipating it could open any time now, and each day seeing another inch of growth. This morning I came downstairs to an absolutely awful smell. First thing I did was try to get it outside, fail, open a door to air out my house and come back to try again when I wasn’t gagging anymore. Next thing was take some pictures. Enjoy, and just be glad you can only see it here.

Sauromatum venosum

It topped out at 26″ from soil to the top of the spadix, which as of last night was about an inch longer than the spathe, now split down the center and folded back around itself.

Sauromatum venosum

A very short time outside and it was already attracting flies. I was working in my backyard within about 10 feet or so of it and was constantly getting the scent on the breeze but fortunately it is not as strong outside as in a closed room. Best way to describe the scent is that it’s very similar to a cattle barn: lots of straw scented undertones with a distinct smell of cow droppings. And maybe there’s a dead animal in one corner of the barn as well, for good measure. With any luck it’ll be alright with our night time temperatures tonight because it’s staying out until it stops smelling.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Tropical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sauromatum venosum Flowering

  1. Scott says:

    OH my….that’s not the most pleasant way to start the day!

  2. ellieT says:

    clearly the joy of growing such a beautiful oddity outweighs the odour
    lovely!

  3. Bom says:

    Great pictures! Sorry to hear that the smell doesn’t match the visuals.

  4. Emily says:

    Super cool! I’ve wanted to try one of those for a long time. I guess it really will sprout indoors then?

    • Andrew says:

      Ya. I’m not really sure what triggered it to start growing as early as it did but I just kept it dry in my room by my window where it would maybe be a little bit cooler not potted or anything and it started sprouting probably in March.

    • Andrew says:

      And now that the weather is warm as well I’ve got them outside.

Leave a Reply

