Foliage Followup – March 2011

I was going to head outside to get some shots of some bulb foliage that didn’t manage to bloom in time for Bloom Day but it’s raining so instead I looked around inside for a few things to shoot.

Saintpaulia 'Shy Blue'
Saintpaulia ‘Shy Blue’ – a really nice smaller African Violet. The flowers are nice enough but worth growing for the leaves.

Phalaenopsis ‘Matou Freed’
Phalaenopsis ‘Matou Freed’ – My mom’s variegated Phal. I guess looking at these pictures I like the flowers well enough and I like the leaves, but the two together doesn’t do a lot for me.

Phalaenopsis philippinense
Phalaenopsis philippinense – Here’s another Phal you could grow for the leaves. This one’s been through a lot in the year I’ve had it but there’s a ton of root growth going on so I hope it’ll be a good year for it.

Hoya carnosa
Hoya carnosa – This plant has taken ages to do anything but now it seems to be worth the wait.

Zamia furfuracea
Zamia furfuracea – After I bought this plant it sat there doing nothing until it started dropping leaves. I had no idea what was wrong so I re-potted it. I still don’t know what was wrong but after I did that it dropped only 1 more leaflet and has now started growing. The first new leaf had the tip bitten of by a cat but here’s another being kept safely away from all cats. Now I just need my Cycas revoluta to decide to do the same.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Foliage Followup, Tropical and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Foliage Followup – March 2011

  1. Pam/Digging says:

    You have an interesting collection of houseplants. The ‘Shy Blue’ (shouldn’t it be called “pink” something?) African violet is my favorite. Those are incredible leaves.

    • Andrew says:

      Thanks. The flowers, while blue and fairly boring and infrequent are what gives it it’s name. The leaves are what makes it worth keeping though.

  2. This post… has been a revelation. I have a jewel orchid and some Paphs that have cool foliage, but I never knew that Phals like that existed! I think I’m going to have to go do some research…🙂

    • Andrew says:

      Phalaenopsis stuartiana & P. schilleriana are two others I’m keeping an eye out for, espeically P. schilleriana. There are some variegated Oncidiums and Cymbidiums too…

  3. Nat says:

    It’s always a pleasure reading your blog Andrew. It’s always an interesting game waiting for newly bought plants to do a performance for you. No no growth.. give me a break, I want action!🙂

Leave a Reply

