Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – March 2011

Mostly Gesneriads this month again. I’ve got Snowdrops and Crocus up but neither of them opened on time for today.

Episcia 'Jim's Hall's Choice'
Episcia ‘Jim’s Hall’s Choice’ – First time this one has bloomed for me. It’s got a ton of buds coming too.

Kohleria 'Green Goblin'
Speaking of covered in buds I’ve never seen a Kohleria flower as much as ‘Green Goblin’ is for me.

Chirita tamiana
Chirita tamiana is a pretty reliable bloomer. This spring may be the best year for it flowering so far.

Saintpaulia "NOID 0002"
Saintpaulia “NOID 0002”

Streptocarpus 'Little Kan'
Streptocarpus ‘Little Kan’ this one seems to flower quite a bit but the flowers don’t open as flat as a lot of other Streps but the details and patterns are really nice.

Streptocarpus 'Northwood's Pink Frill'
Streptocarpus ‘Northwood’s Pink Frill’ isn’t the most exciting Strep but it’s a flower.

Phalaenopsis 'Matou Freed'
Phalaenopsis ‘Matou Freed’ is generally grown for the foliage with yellow variegation with a bit of pink when it’s grown in bright enough light. Like Streptocarpus ‘Northwood’s Pink Frill’ it’s another of my mom’s plants. It’s sort of growing on me even though I’m mostly over Phals.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Bloom Day, Tropical and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – March 2011

  1. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen [the foliage of] a variegated Phal. Not even on-line.

    • Andrew says:

      I will have to take a picture of it for Foliage Followup. It’s interesting. The current leaves are a little damaged but still get the point across.

  2. These are all beautiful but I particularly like the Episcia. One of these days I need to give Episcias a try…

    • Andrew says:

      They can be tricky but if you can keep the soil evenly moist they grow pretty quickly and I didn’t think I’d ever say it but they’re actually pretty easy. It’s really their biggest downside.

  3. Megan says:

    Fabulous flower pics Andrew! I’m especially smitten with the fuzzy blooms of ‘Green Goblin’.

  4. Elaine N says:

    I just love yellow-blossomed episcias!

  5. Pingback: Flowers Along the Way | Danroberson's Blog

  6. Pingback: I’ve Planted Flowers Along the Way | My Blog

Leave a Reply

