SOOS Orchid Show, Part 7: Odds & Ends – Mostly Vandaceous

Last post from the show. A few other Orchids of note that either don’t fit the previous posts or that I missed.

Psychopsis cv.
Psychopsis cv. – Nearly bought a different cross with red patterned leaves but not sure if I’d have the right light for it, so left it behind.

NOID
Didn’t see a name tag but it’s a really nice flower.

NOID
Didn’t see a name tag for this either. Possibly a Dendrobium based on the shape of the bud but that’s a pretty wild guess.

Lycaste Andy Easton 'Connie's Angel' AM_AOS
Lycaste Andy Easton ‘Connie’s Angel’ AM_AOS – Big flowers, nice colour.

Pot. Hoku Gem 'Freckles'
Pot. Hoku Gem ‘Freckles’ – This one walks a fine line between busy and interesting. I haven’t made up my mind which I think it falls under.

Dendrochilum wenzelii
Dendrochilum wenzelii – These can get to be incredibly impressive specimens. A plant for another year though, impressive specimens take up a lot of space too, even if they aren’t huge plants.

Bc. Maikai 'Mayumi'
Bc. Maikai ‘Mayumi’ – Pretty, nearly bought one of these a while back. Not to say I don’t want it now but I don’t think it fits the current direction my collection is moving in, so maybe that’s for the best.

Angraecum leonis
Angraecum leonis – This is more the direction I’m heading. Aerangis and Angraecum are both fantastic groups of plants (lower light Vandaceous plants, generally on the smaller side), though my success has been shaky I will keep trying them until I’ve got it right.

Angraecum Crestwood
Angraecum Crestwood – Though I prefer the clean white about to this.

Angraecum leonis
Angraecum leonis – Mmmm, Angraecum.

Ascocenda 'Princess Mikasa'
Ascocenda ‘Princess Mikasa’ – If I had the heat and light I’d try a Vanda. I don’t, so I haven’t.

Angraecum distichum
Angraecum distichum – Got one of these, will be a while before mine’s this big but hopefully it’ll start blooming sooner than that.

Neofinetia falcata 'Fukuju-Maru'
Neofinetia falcata ‘Fukuju-Maru’ – Very small, almost missed it. Gorgeous though. I’ll try one of these at some point.

Vanda Manuvadee x Gordon Dillon
Vanda Manuvadee x Gordon Dillon – I have no idea if this is the right colour, Vandas are generally that very tricky to photograph blue, and this is an extreme example.

Asctm. christensonianum
Asctm. christensonianum – Tiny plant.

And that’s the end of my pictures from the 2011 SOOS Orchid Show. you can find all my pictures from the show Here, on my Flickr. Hope you enjoyed.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Show, Tropical and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SOOS Orchid Show, Part 7: Odds & Ends – Mostly Vandaceous

  1. Scott says:

    I’ve never seen orchids THAT deep of a purple…I MUST HAVE THEM!!!

    • Andrew says:

      I’m not sure how perfectly accurate the colours are for those, but they are definitely impressive. Their size just makes them even more impressive. Too bad they need so much light.

  2. madyjo says:

    Great photos…as usual ! and of course I am impressed by those purple orchids but who isn’t ?

Leave a Reply

