SOOS Orchid Show, Part 1: New Plants

Here are the plants I picked up today, the first two are off my wish list and the others are two complete impulse buys. All should do well under lights in warm to hot conditions at around 50% humidity (ie, my bedroom) and none get to be very big.

Angraecum didieri
Angraecum didieri from Cloud’s Orchids. This one’s about a year away from blooming size. Well attached to the mount though (I’m referring to roots, not staples here).

Angraecum distichum
Angraecum distichum (will start to trail, small white flowers appear along the stems – I’ve got pictures of one from the show when I get all my pictures sorted out) from Orchids in Our Tropics.

Chiloschista parishii
Chiloschista parishii (white flowers) from Cloud’s Orchids. Generally without leaves (it apparently grows small ones that drop off before blooming. Two spikes on this one (out of focus but there’s not much to see yet).

Schoenorchis fragrans
Schoenorchis fragrans from Shangri La Orchids. The Tiniest Orchid I’ve ever tried. This is blooming size. Bonus points for being a succulent.

The show was pretty much on par with the last two years, no big changes. Big variety of plants in the sale and the show. I was testing out a new flash as well which could have used a diffuser so you’ll have to excuse the glare on many of the pictures.

It’ll take me a day or two to get through all my pictures so I’ll maybe do a few posts and spread them out a little? I’d don’t have much else to post about right now and while the warming temperatures will be nice next week I sort of doubt we’ll see the end of the foot or so of snow still covering the ground.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in New, Show, Tropical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOOS Orchid Show, Part 1: New Plants

  1. Candy Chan says:

    Hi, I got 2 Chiloschista Parishii (in green) from Thailand, but I don’t know how to care them. Can you share your experience.

    Thanks,
    Candy

    • Andrew says:

      Hi – I haven’t had mine for too long yet but it hasn’t died yet but here’s how I’m growing it. It’s under lights (regular T 12 bulbs) fairly close to the bulbs. I try to mist it daily until it’s dripping and the roots have turned green then let it dry out by the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

