New Succulents – Some IDs needed.

I was at Wal-Mart and thought I’d better check out their plant section, just in case and I’m glad I did! Amongst the pots of dead cacti which looked like they’d never been watered I found a nice pot of mixed succulents, 3 Haworthias and what I suspect is some sort of Aloe? Or a Gasteria? Or a hybrid? It didn’t look like it had been there long. It isn’t really clear here but the spines are mostly along the edges of the leaves but there is one larger leaf that has two rows (not straight lines but still in distinct bands) of spines on the back. They’re small, barely curved downward and not coloured like the spines at the top of the leaves.

Aloe? NOID

When I got the pot home I also noticed that one of the Haworthias (attenuata?) was variegated. Not a bad little bonus. I wasn’t looking too closely at the Haworthias (other than checking for bugs) at the store.

Variegated Haworthia

It needs water but it has potential. There was another very similar without the variegation, slightly less white as well.

Haworthia

The fourth plant, one of the upright growing Haworthias.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in New, Tropical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Succulents – Some IDs needed.

  1. I would identify the first as Aloe ferox. Not that I couldn’t be wrong, but that’d be my guess. (About 60% certain.)

    Second is Haworthia attenuata (98% certain), third is possibly H. pumila (40% certain), but Haworthia ID is fraught with difficulty and I’m pretty much only ever confident when IDing H. attenuata or H. limifolia var. limifolia: all the others kind of blur together for me.

    • Andrew says:

      Aloe ferox is closer than any other ID I’ve come across. Mine must be extremely young and it’ll be easier to decide once it’s grown more. I only found 3-4 pictures of A. ferox at this stage (leaves arranged on a plane rather than a rosette) and none of those matched each other or my own plant exactly but it should become clear as it grows more.

      I think I’m leaning more to Haworthia reinwardtii than pumila, which is apparently a larger plant and more likely to be solitary.

      Thanks for your help!

Leave a Reply

