Another new Orchid

I would likely not have gotten that Phalaenopsis I just posted about if we already had these in stock . Now I have both. At least I know I can get more flowers from the Phalaenopsis while I try to find the exact conditions the Dendrobium needs.

Dendrobium Christy Dawn

It’s apparently a formosae/black hair group (members of which (surprise!) have black hairs on their canes) Dendrobium which prefers cool to warm temperatures with a “Short suspension of water early autumn.” I’ll keep this one inside all year because it’ll definitely get too hot for it outside in the summer, though I’m not sure it’ll be cool enough at night even inside. We will see.

It’s supposed to be fragrant but I have a cold and can’t smell anything. There are more buds to open so I’ll get a chance to smell it once I’m over the cold.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in New, Tropical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another new Orchid

  1. Ellada says:

    I love Orchid, but with two cats and a crazy dog, it will not survive in my home.

  2. Andrea says:

    That is a big flowered Dendro. Maybe they get bigger in cold climes. Hi i am new here.

  3. meemsnyc says:

    Wow, that is breathtaking! So pretty. I always wanted to get an orchid, on my wishlist.

Leave a Reply

