Magnolia gradiflora & Myrtus communis seeds

Well lets try this seed thing again! I think last time the biggest problem was dry seeds that were no longer viable. You can’t get much fresher than these though!

Magnolia grandiflora

Myrtus communis

We go through a lot of Magnolia gradiflora leaves, but the dyed leaves (colour isn’t bad but dye that runs in rain/snow on boughs that cost twice the price? no thanks) were the first with seed pods. Some broke off and I was going to try and do something ornamental with them but then they started opening and really at the end of the day I’m a plant person at heart so my next thought was that I had to try growing some!

A handful of the Myrtus communis stems had small black fruit at the base and I thought what the heck, I’ll try these too.

P.S. – I haven’t blogged in a while and posts will be few and far between until January. A few new things though – Echeverias need a lot of light to look good in the winter. Or rather some do and some are fine in lower light? Either way I’ve also bought a used 4′ plant stand so they’ll be getting more light. My Mandevilla has taken being dug up and tossed in lower light like a champ (New growth and flowers), while my Bougainvillea is not doing much (some new shoots starting). I’ve put some little Christmas balls on it but maybe they only make it look sadder. I may have mentioned a while back but I’m now a member of the Toronto Gesneriad Society and there’s a meeting next Sunday (the 12th) so I’ll probably have a post up after that and at work I continue to make containers. There will be another post with a few more of those – I hope you’ve already made yours though – all our suppliers are running out of ornaments/decorations and selection is way down. Hope you have better luck at your local store if you’re starting late (and bring the pots in the garage so the soil can thaw). We’ve also gotten some nice 4″ stuff at work and I’ll be getting a thing or two (Coffee plant, some other things I can’t remember off the top of my head) and I’ll post pictures when I get them.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Tropical, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Magnolia gradiflora & Myrtus communis seeds

  1. That Magnolia seed pod is quite stunning! Was it dyed too? The burgundy color looks a little unusual.

  2. Julie says:

    that dyed seed pod is really gorgeous!!! i agree on that…wowzers! use those in your lovely pots for some show stopping designs!!! 🙂

  3. Good luck with the seeds! I never tried to grow a Magnolia from seeds, even though they are among my favorite trees.

  4. Megan says:

    Beautiful Magnolia seed picture! If it makes you feel any better our Echeverias get a little scrappy looking in the winter outside once the rains start. Do you have an indoor light set up? We had two doorless closets full of plants under lights in the winter back in Wisconsin. It kept me from going insane. One year I even grew mini lettuce. It was delicious.

Leave a Reply

