More container designs, Part 2

008

We got a shipment of some very interesting things and I had to play around. Tall birch, upright Myrtle and Leucadendron ‘Safari Sunset’ for height, a fan of Magnolia (because it’s what I always use), large Sugar pine cone and three smaller ones, 4″ grapevine balls, Hypericum berries and small green balls finish off the container. I think I added a few bits of pine at the end to round things out. This is the sort of thing I’d love to get if I didn’t work in retail. But unfortunately these cost about two days pay so that’s not happening.

008b

So far the Leucadendron has drooped a bit and I’m not at all impressed by the Hypericum berries (or maybe the berries are fine but I should have stripped the leaves?), I’ll probably pull them and replace them with something else if they keep going downhill like they are.

009

This container was done to use up the things I pulled from the purple/yellow container I showed you yesterday. I’d have liked it better with less Magnolia (at the front anyway).

010

Similar to the first one but a bit cheaper. I was rushed and it’s not as nice as I’d like but we were also running out of some materials. I used a different sort of Leucadendron here whose name escapes me completely. I also prefer to separate the clusters of balls into smaller pieces but again, I was rushed and just sort of threw them in. Two smaller grapevine balls vs one larger would have been my preference too. I was going to fix it up but someone bought them instead.

011

I don’t really remember making this one but looking at the picture I remember I liked it. It probably had Willow. Maybe also birch?

012

I’ve made 6 of these so far and have an order for one “just like it but bigger” in every way. They fly off the shelves and I love the Winterberry berries. Big fan of the Jeffrey Pine cones too (possibly actually Ponderosa Pine? No, probably Jeffrey.). The most recent four had frosted apples and no willow but were otherwise very much the same.

013

Love the way this one turned out too. I think I used birch and dogwood, them there’s a fan of Silver Fir with a smaller fan of Magnolia. It’s sort of hard to tell in the picture but I sprayed the grapevine ball with glitter spray so it would work better with the other glittery elements. Light gold frosted apples with shiny gold somethings and Ribbon looped up using my cheating method with a few different sizes of balls and some more Silver Fir worked in around the base with the cedar. I’ll probably make a few more of these for the weekend.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Container, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More container designs, Part 2

  1. Martha says:

    Those are stunning! I would love to decorate with them – if only they weren’t sooooooo pricey😦

  2. Scott says:

    So pretty…I’m so smitten with the dual-nature of those magnolia leaves, that brownish underside is so stunning.

  3. Joy says:

    Absolutely gorgeous ! I would love to have these at my house for sure : )
    I wish I had the “touch” but so many times my mind goes blank when I think of decorating a container .. yet I love everyone else’s ! .. makes me rather red faced ? LOL
    Joy : 0

  4. Gorgeous!! I might have to search my yard and see if I can create something similar! Great inspiration!! Thanks for sharing your creations!

  5. Pingback: More Container Designs, Part 3 | All Andrew's Plants

Leave a Reply

