It’s starting…

image

Lets just get the Christmas season off with a bang. First real container of the season. Meant to showcase some different ways to use materials for something we’re putting on for our landscapers next week. It’s also actually pretty light on greens which is good because these won’t last done up this early (most likely and depending on the weather) and the greens can easily be replaced without disturbing anything from the structure.

As for the garden it’s been treated much like the blog – placed on the backburner and then looked after in frantic bursts. Friday will be for bringing in all the tropicals still outside and planting all the bulbs I’ve been holding onto since early September. I’ll try to get a few more pictures and get some more plant posts ready to go before we get to full-on Christmas here.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Container, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s starting…

  1. Steve K says:

    I had a pretty wicked frost last night up in willowdale, hopefully you didn’t take any casualties last night with those outdoor tropicals

    • Andrew says:

      I brought most of them in last night after I got home from work. It was dark though and I missed a Begonia which certainly looked bad this morning but after cutting off all its leaves looks like it will bounce back. I’d also left out all pond plants because I didn’t really have anywhere to put them and some of the Hibiscus acetosella were looking a little rough and I’m hoping they’ll bounce back but I didn’t have much luck keeping these over the winter last year either, so I’m not too hopeful for this year, but trying again anyway.

      Odd question but were you at the Toronto Gesneriad meeting a few weeks ago?

  2. Steve K says:

    you betcha, I was going to introduce myself at the next meeting, I wish I had a backyard… but I do have a wicked plant stand… and a balcony that I am going to turn into an amazing garden next summer. Although my southern exposure will be a challenge, at least I am on the ground floor so wind won’t be a major issue.

    All that to say, yes. I forget how i found my way here, but you certainly have some flavour sensations and rare plant love going on, addictions are dangerous….

  3. Looking good! I work at a Christmas Tree Farm during November and December and we have been making up wreaths garland, swags and such now for over a week. With temps going up to 60 degrees F on Friday I have to wonder how many will sell before they get dry looking. It is good you limit the greens in your decorations as weather is probably similar.

  4. Bom says:

    Looking good! We don’t use too much fresh greens locally. The heat and humidity would do them in before the first carol is even sung. Your container where greens are easily replace is a very good idea.

  5. Those are absolutely gorgeous ! I want both of them !! LOL
    Joy wink wink

  6. I’m still working on holloween, Christmas will have to wait. The arrangements are lovely, I’m from southern Canada and fresh evergreen material is very abundant and used widely over the Xmas season. It can be surprisingly expensive though if you don’t have it on your own property.

Leave a Reply

