Aloe I.D.?

image

Considering this plant. It is awesome but also expensive. 6″ pot, dwarf and clump forming are both things I like in my Aloes and this one adds some very nice colour.

Also, anyone know what it might be?

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Tropical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Aloe I.D.?

  1. I don’t know what it is (there are quite a few possibilities, and I’m not fully versed on the distinctions between them; ‘Carmine‘ or ‘Tony‘ would be my guess if I had to guess), but if I can share my experiences with the possibly-related ‘Silver Ridge’ and ‘Pink Blush’:

    Both SR and PB turned to quivering green Jell-O on me after I attempted to repot them in something a little less water-retentive than the high-peat soil they were in at the store. I’ve salvaged one tiny piece of SR, which seems to be doing okay; PB is about half its previous size, continues to lose offsets, and has never gotten enough light to bring back the color it had when I bought it. It could be that I was rough with them, that the greenhouse where I bought them sucked, or etc., but they’ve made a poor impression on me. So the plant is gorgeous, obviously, but I wouldn’t touch it myself, especially not if it’s expensive.

    • Andrew says:

      Thanks, I think I’ll pass on it this time, especially because of the high price. If it were a 4″ for less though I might give it a try. The soil it’s in now isn’t actually too bad.

  2. That aloe is gorgeous, I really like it. Too bad it was pricey. Maybe the red is just from hapless victims that didn’t see the jagged points. :)

  3. ricki says:

    Looks like my ‘Carmine’

    • Andrew says:

      It does look very similar. Most images I’ve been able to find though show either a young plant or a closeup so it’s hard to say for sure. I’ll probably put it down in my books as Aloe “probably ‘Carmine'”

  4. Paul VA says:

    Im pretty sure its ‘christmas carol’

  5. Brendan says:

    99% sure it is Aloe ‘Christmas Carol’ – It’s a winter blooming Kelly Griffin hybrid that was recently named. Not sure what the parents are, but Kelly’s done some amazing things with Aloes. Robin at Succulent Gardens Nursery (http://sgplants.com/) is growing and selling a lot of these now.

  6. Yes, it’s Chrismas Carol Aloe for sure. I have one as well. I bought mine from Green Design in San Jose. It was definitely pricier than the other specimens. Succulent Gardens Nursery is the place to go if you’re ever around Castroville, CA.

Leave a Reply

