Proteaceae for the holidays

I got the opportunity today to buy some things direct from one of our suppliers/floral importers with no further retail mark up. Well, it’s a little ways away from Christmas (or even winter for that matter) but these things are supposed to dry well and for the savings I can’t really afford to use these if I don’t get them now.

I wanted to go very natural with the container this year. My mom still wants red. I compromised. Sort of. There will be some burgundy, I guess.

Anyway, here are some of the Proteas and similar I’ll be using this year.

Protea cynaroides
Protea cynaroides – This beast is massive. The “stem” is at least an inch across at the base and I have no vase etc. it will not topple. But look at it, it’s gorgeous. 1 of these was still pricey at wholesale prices. But not even close to the $30 we would charge retail per stem.

Protea nerifolia
Protea nerifolia – Similar colours, these will fill things out a lot cheaper than many other options at $3.75 a stem (probably $9 retail?). I got three.

NOID Protea - Dried
NOID Proteaceae, dried. The colour is pretty intense which is nice because the two above will fade as we get through the winter. The red ties in with some other stuff that you’ll just have to wait and see in November.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Container, Tropical, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Proteaceae for the holidays

  1. I’ve always found Protea interesting but they’ve really started to grow on me lately. Now I want seeds. I think I have an addiction!

  2. Orchidhunter says:

    These are some very romantic protea portraits! They look like Regency-era paintings of aristocratic ladies-of-society.

  3. sharon says:

    one of my favs…proteas remind me of Hawaii

Leave a Reply

