New pitchers on the Pitcher Plant

Nepenthes cv.
Nepenthes cv.

For a long time I think my Pitcher Plants were too dry and maybe not bright enough.

A few months ago I’ve started keeping the moss constantly wet with rainwater and put it under lights and they’ve been responding really well. One of them has a small branch starting to grow at the base with the cutest little pitchers on it. There was a little rough patch in there but they seem to be doing much much better now. I’m also thinking about potting my two plants together (maybe up to a 5″ pot from 2 4″?) but I’ve heard they don’t like to have their roots disturbed but hopefully they’re growing enough right now that they’ll recover quickly from a little disturbance.

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Tropical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New pitchers on the Pitcher Plant

  1. Bom says:

    The lighting on that pitcher is just perfect.
    Some of my Nepenthes were repotted. You could tell that they were stressed even if I tried to be as gentle as possible. I didn’t expose them to full sun until the leaves started looking “alive” again. They’re okay now.

    • Andrew says:

      Thanks for the tips. I’ll be as gentle as possible with them and treat them with care once they’re in their new pot. Maybe bump up the humidity while they get re-established.

  2. A very nice plant. I keep admiring them, but have yet to take the plunge.

    • Andrew says:

      As much as half my post is about how I almost killed mine the common varieties are really not very challenging. Don’t let them ever dry out (the tray of rain water Megan suggested is a good way to do this) and keep them in bright light and you’re good to go.

  3. Megan says:

    Nice! We keep our Nepenthes sitting in a tray of rain water all the time. They’re going through it like crazy right now. We do have one sad Nepenthes that’s only pushed out one or two pitchers in the two years we’ve had it. Not sure why it’s so crabby with us. Beautiful picture!

    • Andrew says:

      Good tip, thanks. I’ll try that once I get them repotted I think. On your other plant there are some species that are a lot more demanding in terms of high humidity, could your plant be one of the trickier ones?

  4. Al says:

    Where can I pick up one of these around GTA? I tried asking around in the garden centers of some popular retailers like Home Depot & Canadian Tire etc but no one seems to have a clue as to what I’m talking about…

Leave a Reply

