Gesneriad Flowers

Here are a few quick flower pictures.

Saintpaulia 'Opera's Romeo'
Saintpaulia ‘Opera’s Romeo’

Columnea sp.
Columnea sp.

Nematanthus 'Hawaiian Jade'
Nematanthus ‘Hawaiian Jade’

Kohleria 'Peridot's Mango Martini'
Kohleria ‘Peridot’s Mango Martini’

Sinningia 'Peridots Darth Vader'
Sinningia ‘Peridots Darth Vader’ (older picture but just posting again because I’ve managed to get one of my own!)

About Andrew

Plant lover living in Toronto, Canada where I grow a wide range of plants in a very small space.
This entry was posted in Tropical and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Gesneriad Flowers

  1. meemsnyc says:

    Ooh, I love ‘Hawaiian Jade’! Is that the same as the “goldfish” plant?

    • Andrew says:

      Yup. From what I can tell Nematanthus is generally what is called a Goldfish Plant, less often Columnea comes up but I don’t really see any resemblance there.

  2. Megan says:

    Gorgeous! The Sinningia ‘Peridots Darth Vader’ is amazing. I just brought home a baby Nematanthus striatus from work. I don’t have very many Gesneriads.

    • Andrew says:

      That is such a cool plant, now I’m really jealous! Going to have to track one of those down for sure.

      African Violets were sort of my Mom’s thing almost exclusively until she joined the Toronto Gesneriad Society and now our collection is becoming much more diverse.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Gesneriad Flowers | All Andrew's Plants -- Topsy.com

  4. Julie says:

    Amazing blooms!!! WOW!

  5. Mandy says:

    Well, you answered my first question…love the Goldfish Plant!! I try to grow them every year, but without much success. I never can resist them though, so I’ll find another in the spring. The Peridots Darth Vader is gorgeous!! I think I’m in love with your new camera…

  6. madyjo says:

    Lovely flowers and the photos are really good !

  7. Scott says:

    Those patterns in the last 2 flowers are just amazing…so intricate!

  8. Nat says:

    The Sinningia is amazing, I will have to keep my eye out for one of these. Such a great pattern of dots and madness.

  9. allexandra says:

    Are you growing them in LECA? Does kohleria survive in semi hydro? I just killed my first ones last summer going off on holiday for 2 weeks and now by overwatering

    • Andrew says:

      None of these were in LECA but I have since tried Kohlerias in SH and they’ve done well. I’ve also rooted them in it then dropped the water level once rooted to move them from cuttings to plants in SH without having to transplant.

      My guess is that anything that can be rooted in water can be grown in SH/LECA long term, and so far I’ve been right though I’m not sure how anything that grows a tuber might do, but rhizomes are no problem.

Leave a Reply

